CMRS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Does CMRS Stand For?

TL;DR
  • CMRS stands for Certified Medical Reimbursement Specialist, issued through the American Medical Billing Association (AMBA) and its Certifying Board, CBAMBA.
  • The exam is online and open book, with 694 required answers across 16 sections and a 45-calendar-day completion window.
  • The passing standard is 85% cumulative, and two retakes are included, subject to AMBA waiting and completion rules.
  • Initial cost is $424: the $325 exam plus the required $99 annual AMBA membership, before optional materials.

The Short Answer: Certified Medical Reimbursement Specialist

CMRS stands for Certified Medical Reimbursement Specialist. It is a billing and reimbursement credential offered by the American Medical Billing Association (AMBA). The word "reimbursement" is the key to the whole name: the credential is built around how healthcare providers get paid by insurers and government programs, which means translating clinical encounters into codes, claims and collected revenue.

The acronym is also used by other, unrelated credentials in other fields, so it is worth confirming which one a job posting or search result means. On this site, and throughout this article, CMRS refers only to the AMBA's Certified Medical Reimbursement Specialist. If you want a broader orientation before diving into details, our overview pages What Is CMRS? and CMRS Meaning cover the basics from different angles.

Who Issues the Credential

The credential is administered by the American Medical Billing Association, with examination governance handled by its Certifying Board, abbreviated CBAMBA. The exam is delivered through the AMBA's online student environment. No separately verified external testing vendor has been identified, so you should not expect a third-party testing center appointment the way you would with some other certifications.

That delivery model shapes the entire experience. Rather than booking a seat at a proctored site on a fixed date, candidates enroll, receive access, and work through the material on their own schedule inside a defined window. For a deeper look at how timing works, see CMRS Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

What "Medical Reimbursement" Actually Covers

Reimbursement work sits between the clinical side of a practice and the financial side. A specialist takes documentation of what a provider did, assigns the correct diagnosis and procedure codes, builds a clean claim, submits it electronically, and follows it through payer adjudication. When something is denied or underpaid, the same person often investigates why and corrects it.

The credential name reflects that full cycle. Each of the 16 exam sections maps to a piece of it:

  • Clinical foundation: Anatomy and Physiology, and Medical Terminology, so you can read a chart and understand what was done.
  • Code assignment: ICD-10-CM Coding and CPT Coding, the two languages claims are written in.
  • Claim mechanics: the CMS 1500 Claim Form and EDI Transactions and Clearinghouses.
  • Payer knowledge: Insurance, Insurance Carriers and Managed Care.
  • Guardrails: Compliance and HIPAA, and Fraud and Abuse.

The 16 Sections Behind the Name

The exam is organized into 16 official sections. AMBA does not publish percentage weights for them, so any claim about "how much" each section counts toward your score should be treated with suspicion. What is published is the number of required answers per section, and the largest is Anatomy and Physiology at 82. That is a count of required answers, not an officially stated scoring weight, but it tells you where the volume of work is. For a full walkthrough, see CMRS Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 16 Content Areas.

Clinical and Language Foundations

Domains 1 and 2: Anatomy and Physiology, and Medical Terminology.

  • Anatomy and Physiology carries the largest published required-answer count (82), so it deserves real study time rather than a skim.
  • Terminology fluency (prefixes, suffixes, root words) makes the coding sections much faster to work through.

Technology Sections

Domains 3 and 4: Information Technology and Computers, and Web and Information Technology.

  • These reflect that modern reimbursement is done in software, portals and electronic systems.
  • Expect questions on the tools and concepts that support electronic claims and records rather than on programming.

Coding and Claim Construction

Domains 5 through 8: ICD-10-CM Coding, CPT Coding, EDI Transactions and Clearinghouses, and the CMS 1500 Claim Form.

  • ICD-10-CM describes the diagnosis; CPT describes the service or procedure. A claim links the two.
  • The CMS 1500 is the standard professional claim form, and knowing what each field communicates is core knowledge.
  • EDI and clearinghouses explain how claims travel electronically from provider to payer.

Payers and Coverage

Domains 9, 10 and 13: Insurance, Insurance Carriers and Managed Care.

  • Understand how plan types differ and how coverage rules affect what gets paid.
  • Managed care concepts such as network structures and authorization processes show up in daily billing decisions.

Vocabulary, Compliance and Integrity

Domains 11, 12, 14 and 15: Acronyms and Terms in Common Healthcare Use, Compliance and HIPAA, Fraud and Abuse, and General.

  • Healthcare billing runs on acronyms; this section rewards plain memorization.
  • Compliance, HIPAA and fraud-and-abuse material covers what you must protect and what you must never do.

Case Study

Domain 16: the Case Study section applies everything to a realistic scenario.

  • Expect to combine coding, claim and payer knowledge in one worked problem.
  • Candidates who studied sections in isolation often find this one the most demanding to organize.

How the Exam Is Delivered

Here is where the CMRS differs most from the stereotype of a certification test. It is online and open book. Officially it is described as 694 required answers across 16 examination sections, to be completed within 45 calendar days of enrollment. It is not a single timed sitting, so you can pace yourself over weeks rather than cramming into a few hours.

A complete breakdown of item types and of scored versus unscored items is not publicly specified, so avoid any source that claims a precise question-type mix. What is clear is that the Case Study is its own section, and that the cumulative passing standard is 85%.

Open book does not mean easy: With 694 required answers and an 85% cumulative standard, the challenge shifts from recall under pressure to accuracy and research discipline. AMBA also requires or directs candidates to current-year coding resources, so you will be looking things up in the right code books rather than guessing. Our difficulty guide and passing score breakdown go deeper on what this means in practice.

The current public exam outline is undated, so confirm the details with AMBA at enrollment. Two retakes are included in the exam fee, but they are subject to AMBA waiting and completion rules, so read those terms before assuming you can retry immediately.

Fees, Membership and the Real Cost

The sticker price is not the whole price, because AMBA membership is required. The published figures:

ItemAmountNotes
CMRS exam$325Includes two retakes under AMBA rules
Required individual AMBA membership$99 per yearMust be maintained to keep the credential
Calculated initial total$424Exam plus first-year membership, excluding optional materials
Optional study guide$199 (regular price)Not required to sit the exam

Budget also for current-year coding books, since the exam expects you to use current-year resources. A full line-by-line view is in CMRS Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

On eligibility, AMBA's pages are not perfectly aligned. The main credential page lists a high school diploma or equivalent plus membership, while the Rules & Requirements page says there are no prerequisites. No mandatory course or fixed work-experience hours have been verified. Check the current wording with AMBA, and see CMRS Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify for more.

Who Hires Reimbursement Specialists

Because the credential spans coding, claims and payer knowledge, the roles it supports are the ones where revenue cycle accuracy matters:

  • Physician practices and clinics: small and mid-sized offices where one person may handle coding, claim submission and follow-up.
  • Medical billing companies: outsourced billing firms that manage claims for multiple providers.
  • Hospitals and health systems: patient financial services and revenue cycle departments.
  • Specialty practices: offices where payer rules and documentation requirements are particularly detailed.
  • Remote and home-based billing roles: common in this field because the work is software-based.

Job titles vary widely: billing specialist, reimbursement specialist, claims analyst, insurance follow-up representative, and similar. We do not quote a salary figure here because none is published for this credential in a way we can verify; for what we can say qualitatively, see CMRS Salary Guide 2026 and CMRS Jobs. If you are weighing the investment, Is the CMRS Certification Worth It? frames the decision.

Keeping the Credential Active

Earning the CMRS is not a one-time event. Annual maintenance requires 15 continuing education units (CEUs), with at least half earned through AMBA, and you must keep your AMBA membership current. The ongoing membership fee therefore doubles as a maintenance requirement.

Plan for year two now: When you budget for the exam, include the recurring $99 membership and the time cost of earning 15 CEUs each year. Coding rules and payer policies change, and the CEU requirement is how the credential stays tied to current practice.

Sequencing Your Prep Around the Sections

Because the exam is open book with a 45-day window, the best plan is built around the section list rather than generic habits. A reasonable order, front-loading the largest and most foundational material:

Week 1

Foundations

  • Anatomy and Physiology, the largest published required-answer count (82), plus Medical Terminology.
  • Gather your current-year ICD-10-CM and CPT resources.
Weeks 2-3

Coding and Claims

  • ICD-10-CM Coding, CPT Coding, the CMS 1500 Claim Form, and EDI Transactions and Clearinghouses.
  • Practice linking a diagnosis code to a procedure code on a completed claim.
Week 4

Payers and Rules

  • Insurance, Insurance Carriers, Managed Care, Compliance and HIPAA, and Fraud and Abuse.
  • Technology sections and the Acronyms and Terms section.
Weeks 5-6

Integration

  • The General section and the Case Study, then review weak sections against the 85% standard.
  • Reserve buffer days before the 45-day window closes.

Key Takeaway

Do the Case Study last, because it draws on nearly everything else. Take practice questions along the way using our CMRS practice tests, and keep the CMRS cheat sheet handy for quick review. A fuller plan is in the CMRS Study Guide 2026.

One note on difficulty: we do not cite a pass rate because none is verifiable. For what is and is not known, read CMRS Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows. You can also sharpen your skills any time with the question banks on our main practice site.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CMRS stand for?

CMRS stands for Certified Medical Reimbursement Specialist, a credential offered by the American Medical Billing Association (AMBA) through its Certifying Board, CBAMBA.

Is the CMRS exam proctored at a testing center?

The exam is delivered online through AMBA's student environment and is open book. No separately verified external testing vendor has been identified, so candidates complete it remotely within the 45-calendar-day window.

How many questions and sections are on the CMRS exam?

It is officially described as 694 required answers across 16 examination sections, including a Case Study section. A complete item-type breakdown is not publicly specified.

What score do I need to pass?

The passing standard is 85% cumulative. Two retakes are included, subject to AMBA's waiting and completion rules.

How much does it cost to get certified?

The exam is $325 and individual AMBA membership is a required $99 annually, for a calculated initial total of $424, excluding optional materials such as the $199 regular-price study guide. See our cost breakdown for details.

If you want to go further on the credential itself, our pages on CMRS certification and CMRS training are good next stops.

Ready to pass your CMRS exam?

Put this into practice with free CMRS questions across every exam domain.